Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I work for an estate agent doing approximately 55 to 60 hours a week ( I work 6 days) . I am a university graduate and have had many jobs in the past like working for NGOS and in retail.

I joined the firm in July 2016. It is now January 2017.

My issue is, I get paid £500 every month in basic salary. And around £150 in commissions.

I welcome the money but the hours are killing me and they are compulsory. The employers reason for this pay is I am not a permanent member of staff, so they do not know how long I will be working at their company. Which is true- I made it clear I wanted to work in finance/banking and would actively be looking for a job.

I just graduated under a year ago, in History. This job is ok.

My issue is we have apprentices at my workplace (who joined well after me) who make £800 in basic salary and £150 in commissions.

Additionally, there a girl working at the firm who joined a month after I did. She studied law. And was paid £800 for her month at the estate agent and then £1200 a month thereafter ever since, with 2 days off every week (I get only 1 day off) . My employers reason for this is she is a law graduate and some rubbish about her doing important paperwork/legal stuff? She made 1 sale in August. She regularly takes sick days off because she still will make more money than me even if her pay is cut for these sick days. She is the same race as the employer, and I am not.

I do not really know what to do. If I quit, I lose this £500 coming in every month which I desperately need. If I stay, I have no prospect of a better future I believe. I have applied to over 100 jobs this past 12 months, and have had a few responses, none positive.