Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys,

Tl;dr: want to do a masters so I can get on to a PhD, but have already done one. Want to know if it's worth it.

So, lately for the past 2/3 years I've been looking to do a PhD. In that time, I've applied to at least 10 or so each year and at best have got to interview stages on 2 of them.

I've got a low 2:2 BSc Chemistry, I was lazy and no one to blame but myself for it. I did an MSc in Medicinal Chemistry to try and make up for the low grade. I did initially get on to a PhD position but ended up quiting for various reasons. I've worked in industry since ( about 3 years).

Lately it's been suggested to do an Mres in Chemistry to give me a way in to a lab. Given the tuition fees and basically adding an extra year, I don't know if it would be a good idea or not. Just wondering if anyone has any experience of this or advice?

Thanks. :-)
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    I'm not sure if an MRes will help except for giving you more lab experience which I'd imagine you'd have anyway from working in industry. Have you had feedback from your interviews? 10 applications isn't a lot and it sounds like you need to work more on them and your interview technique than just collecting more degrees.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by alleycat393)
    I'm not sure if an MRes will help except for giving you more lab experience which I'd imagine you'd have anyway from working in industry. Have you had feedback from your interviews? 10 applications isn't a lot and it sounds like you need to work more on them and your interview technique than just collecting more degrees.
    I think with the Mres, those that suggested it were going for the angle of getting into a lab as a masters student and then doing a PhD with that lab. I agree, I've probably got enough lab experience.