The Student Room Group

Social Work degree and needing work experience?

I'm currently studying Health & Social Work BTEC Level 3 Extended and will be applying next year to go Uni to do a Social Work degree and I wanted to know that in order to get a place would I need a lot of experience under my belt?
I am currently doing one day of work experience at a residential home for disabled people a week for a year (over 100 hours) and have completed NCS in the summer (voluntary program for teens). I wanted to know if I should do more work experience/volunteering and if so should it be specific? Such as working with disabled children or being at an animal shelter and if it makes a different. I also wanted to know if unis care about age or not because this degree seems more for maturer students but I really want to do it!! Many thanks to anyone reading this.
Reply 1
Hello. As someone who has received offers for this year, I would definitely recommend getting further experience. Social Work can be an incredibly demanding career and increasingly challenging! Therefor, universities definitely favour those who have a large amount of experience and extensive knowledge for the career. However, its not impossible to get onto a course without having as much experience as someone else may have. I know people who have gained offers straight from A Levels. However, this could have been down to them having relevant personal experiences or unique insight to the career/course.