The Student Room Group

Pgce primary confidence issues

Hi all! Wondering if anyone has any advice for me, I'm studying my pgce in primary and just really really struggle with confidence in school. I get nervous and shaky before speaking to a class and cannot raise my voice loud enough to grab their attention and it just makes me feel worse. I dread starting a new school because I can't really deal with social situations. I freeze and just get so panicky on the inside about what to say or whether I've said the right thing and I generally really struggle to make relationships with people. I feel so awkward in every school im in and just wish I could be more cheery, upbeat and chatty (and of course confident) but I realllllllly don't know how to get there. I know I've rambled but I just wanted to see if anyone has any advice? Many thanks.
Reply 1
Unfortunately, I think confidence is something that just comes with time. Things will also be different when you have your own class - teaching someone else's class and regular observations is nerve-wracking. Take a deep breath and try to remind yourself of why you have chosen to train and that you are the most important person in the room when you are teaching.

As for getting the children's attention, it doesn't have to be your voice that does this. You could use maracas or a tambourine. Or introduce a phrase that tells the children that you want their attention e.g. '1, 2, 3, eyes on me', set some expectations for what will happen if they do/don't follow this signal and then run some drills, giving praise to those who follow it and warnings to those who don't. Once the high expectations are there and you keep at it, they will get there. It is a difficult thing to establish when it's not really your own class and you're only with them for a short time, so don't be disheartened if it's a bit of a struggle initially.