Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I am studying my LLB in France and I want to do a LLM in the UK but many people tell me that with a french LLB and a simple LLM I won't be able to became a solicitor or a barrister in the UK.
    Please someone can tell me if this is right? What kind of diploma I have to achieve if I want to work as a solicitor or a barrister knowing that I already have my law degree.

Thank you very much

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I studied a LLB in french law (Paris II Assas) and I am going to pursue an LLM in Queen Mary University of London next year
    To become a solicitor, an LLM won't be enough. You have to, first of all, pursue a GDL (Graduate Diploma in Law) which is a qualifying law degree for international students or non-law graduates. After that, You have to go through the LPC and then get a training contract.

Do not hesitate if you have further questions!

ReputationRep:
    An LLM won't cut it (and isn't necessary to qualify). You need to take the GDL. Better yet, secure a training contract/pupillage (both are hard to get) and only then proceed to take the GDL and LPC/BPTC, as all of these are expensive courses.

I know a girl who had a law degree from Spain but wasn't qualified there and who did an LLM at KCL. During the LLM she started applying for vac schemes, secured one, got her TC as a result, and then proceeded to take the GDL and LPC immediately after the LLM. Doing the LLM can't have helped that much because she didn't have the results when she was applying for vac schemes, but it did mean that she was in London during all the law fairs. And she had a perfect Chelsea accent even though she had no British heritage whatsoever, that never hurts.