Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm a second year med student on a 4 year course.

I'm thinking a bit about next summer and just wondering if anyone has any experience/advice about organising some kind of summer placement. Before I get all the 'enjoy your summer/have a rest' chat, I get that totally, and I'm not one of those top decile chasers who never gets a break, but for personal reasons I've had to put medicine to one side for a while, and I'm keen to try to get thinking about my career!

I'd be quite keen to get some experience either abroad or in another city...is this something that's possible outside the normal elective period? We get to go on elective in 4th year, but has anybody organised summer placements etc that can give any advice? Thank you!
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    If you have the time and inclination you can do what you want in your spare time. I'm sure there are loads of people who have done things that are not directly med related over the summer so it depends on what you want to do and where. Have a look for schemes or even doing something on your own. Just don't burn yourself out if you plan to go back to med school.

ReputationRep:
    Seek out contacts in hospitals in the cities you want to visit. Some hospitals will advertise a contact for arranging electives or you could go through the admin staff who organise work experience for 6th form kids. You'll need to give them specifics of date and duration that you'd like the attachment to last. It may be a good idea to meet with a uni supervisor/tutor to have a chat, so you can tell potential placements that you're uni are aware and happy.
    Best of luck, let me know if you fancy Plymouth, Truro or Exeter!

ReputationRep: