Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

My dad harasses me almost every night, what do I do? Watch

ReputationRep:
    I've been having significant problems with my dad recently, and I'm looking for some advice.

I'm a 19 year old female and I'm in my second year at university. I don't live at home; I stay with some other relatives for the purposes of it being easier and cheaper to get to university.

My dad and I don't get on very well. He feels that there is no need for me to stay with my relatives because I could easily make it to university from where he lives. This is true, but it is much quicker and more straightforward for me to stay away. It avoids more direct arguments. He is a single parent, my mum died around 7 years ago. When I stay at home, my dad complains that I use too much electricity and that I eat everything in the house despite the fact that I buy my own food. My dad drinks heavily at night and will often send me messages well after midnight every night criticising me for something. He typically accuses me of just not going to university and lying around in bed all day.

Much of what we argue over is money. I am largely unemployed; I do some freelance writing and the occasional bit of work for my university, but I have been unable to find permanent evening or weekend work. I apply for every job I see, but I have only ever had one interview. This is simply not good enough for my dad. He seems to expect me to work full time at the same time as attend university from 9-4 every day. It's simply not possible.