Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I am dropping out of Sixth Form instead of finishing my A-levels. Any advice? Watch

ReputationRep:
    I have never been particularly good at school. My grades have always lacked, the only subject I have ever gotten straight As in is History, and even now those have started to go down hill. I have a particularly bad and abusive relationship with my mother, who, despite kicking me out last year, enjoys sending provocative emails to the head of staff at my Sixth about how I am not to be trusted and am a prolific liar - this has lead to many uncomfortable talks. We are currently being mediated by my grandmother.

I'm eighteen next month, which, in England, is the legal age at which you can exit education. I am studying subjects I have flunked; my As-levels were deplorable, I have been rejected from my universities and I don't see the point in staying. Moreover, my mental health (which has always been pretty awful) is making it impossible to reach deadlines and turn in work that actually gets decent grades. I'd much rather quit now and start being productive and earning some sort of paycheck than stay in a place that I feel is both unpleasant and time wasting; I'm moving in with a friend soon to a flat we are both paying for whilst he's at university, and to be honest I'd much rather get away from here and from my mother and then go back to college once I'm out and in a place where she can't affect me or my education and where my mental state ought to be marginally better.

Everybody is some stage of mad at me. My friend fully supports my decision but I know that he is disappointed; my grandparents (with whom I'm living) think I need to stay and 'stick it out' just for the purpose of 'seeing it through', and I know already that things between my mother can only get worse. Am I doing the right thing? Am I being over dramatic? What is the correct way of going about dropping out of Sixth?

ReputationRep: