Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

how did you get onto the film production course at Edinburgh or Edinburgh Napier Watch

ReputationRep:
    so i really really wanna be a filmmaker, but don't have much experience. i visited edinburgh uni and really fell in love with the city, the surrounding landscape and loved the course. unfourtunately, i found out only 5% of applicants get in so with someone without much experience, its gonna be hard but i'm gonna try! so for this reason, i am also looking at edinburgh napier as my 2nd choice (am in yr 12 btw so will apply next year, but deferred due to gap year) and it looks great too. so for anyone on either of these courses, what did you do to get in? So, i've never done much before due to lack of equipment so don't even have a portfolio atm, but I've always had ideas and stuff. i take media studies a level so will use my coursework for the portfolio, i also am doing an epq to make a short horror film on a 0 budget, using friends and school equipment and stuff. i wanna start taking more photos, and writing down more of my ideas and storyboards for some to add to a portfolio. i have started controlling the camera at my church and doing the live stream in the mornings. i hope to contact the national film school which is nearby me, in the summer term to see if i can be a runner on a student film and my mum is talking to some video production company who just moved in below her office to see if they would need/want an apprentice to help. so what did you do to get onto this course? and what would your suggestions for me be?

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

(I'm not at Napier but have studied art and have made applications to many unis and art schools- including ECA!)