Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Register to vote or you could be fined £80 Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I am currently a 1st year student who is living in Sheffield. Me and my flatmates have been receiving these letters telling us to register to vote or we could be fined £80.

I have been registered to vote in my home constituency of since 2015 when I turned 18, and I have been actively voting there. I voted in last year's council elections and the EU referendum.

However, Sheffield City Council are now asking me to register to vote in Sheffield or I could be fined £80. I don't ever intend to vote in Sheffield as I will always be at home during the months in which election normally happen, therefore I want to vote at home. This means that I don't particularly want to register to vote in Sheffield.

I understand that registering to vote and being on the electoral register is a legal requirement. However I am already on the electoral register as I vote in my home constituency, and don't want to register in a place where I will never vote.

Are Sheffield City Council allowed to force me to register to vote in Sheffield? I don't particularly want to as I already vote at home, and threat of the £80 fine scares me, as it would seriously mess up my student finance for the whole semester.

All help would be appreciated
    Many Thanks
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Oswaldini)
    I am currently a 1st year student who is living in Sheffield. Me and my flatmates have been receiving these letters telling us to register to vote or we could be fined £80.

I have been registered to vote in my home constituency of since 2015 when I turned 18, and I have been actively voting there. I voted in last year's council elections and the EU referendum.