Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone!

I'm currently 1 of 10 students on the foundation year at Lady Margaret Hall (Oxford University).

Please feel free to ask any questions about the application, the course or anything else!

So far I'm having the most amazing time and I would really encourage people to apply

ReputationRep:
    What are you studying and are you guaranteed a place next year at the university?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by vividviolets)
    What are you studying and are you guaranteed a place next year at the university?
    I'm studying music - but you can study most subjects on the foundation year (the list of them are on the website) https://lmhfoundationyear.com/

I'm afraid it does not guarantee you a place. But it certainly gives you a much better chance of getting a place. All the tutors are on your side and do everything they can to help you get the place. A similar course is run at Trinity Dublin and 9/10 applications get onto the undergraduate degree and it's expected it will be the same here.

Unfortunately the foundation students have to apply via ucas - of course you would put Oxford as your first choice and pick four other unis. However, last term when applying, it was amazing the amount of help I received on my personal statement and lots of interview practice from some of the tutors themselves. I also got help from many 2nd and 3rd year students and they gave me practice interviews and feedback. Overall, if you get into the foundation year, you are already half way there essentially.

If you receive an offer, the condition is completing the foundation year working at minimum 2.1 standard. This is instead of having to get AAA or A*AA.

I hope I answered your question - do ask away if you have any more

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by howardbakerd123)
    Hi everyone!