Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Worried what others think/I changed career. Watch

I studied for a mh nursing degree but quite a while after starting I realised that I didn't want to be a nurse. My mum is a nurse and she told me that it was my last chance to make something of myself etc so I stuck it out and qualified. I didn't work as a nurse but wanted to change career to occupational therapy. Because I didn't have good A levels I had to do an access course and am now on another 3 year degree studying Occupational therapy. However I worry about what people think of this. A man off my nursing course has asked several times if I'm going to actually work as an OT or if I'm just studying it as I did with nursing. I went out with my mum today and we passed a university in the car. She said 'is this going to be your next university when you decide you don't want to be an OT. I looked at her and she seemed a little annoyed. I said what do you mean she said well you have been in education for ages so I don't really know what your intentions are.

I know I want to be an OT, I applied when I was 18 but got rejected so then I turned to nursing. I feel a bit embarrassed that people think I don't want to work and that I just want to study though. Just wanted advice even though there's not much to say the truth in my goals will be revealed in the future lol.
    • Very Important Poster

(Original post by Anonymous)