Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

How to become a clinical psychologist Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm an AS student from N.Ireland studying biology, history and psychology (as well as German outside of school). Psychology has been a genuine interest and passion of mine for almost 5 years and I'd love to become a clinical psychologist but I appreciate how competitive it is.

I want to ask if there is anything I can currently do to increase my chances of succeeding, or will I have to wait until I start uni for placements etc? At the moment I volunteer regularly with a mental health charity, have attended insight nights/open days concerning occupational therapy and clinical psychology and I may have permission to shadow a clinical psychologist at my local hospital next month.
    Any responses are appreciated
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Your work experience sounds great. I would suggest focus on your A-levels and subsequently your degree, because experience won't make up for bad/mediocre grades!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Noodlzzz)
    Your work experience sounds great. I would suggest focus on your A-levels and subsequently your degree, because experience won't make up for bad/mediocre grades!
    I've started revising for my exams because I'm predicted by my teachers to get AAA and I really would rather not settle for anything less than that (although I would be happy with a B in biology because it's the most challenging subject out of the three)! Do you know if the career prospects would be different in NI when compared to the rest of the UK?
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by MeganMcAlister)