Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

From Sensei to Teacher - Applying for a PGDE from Japan Watch

ReputationRep:

What do you think of when you remember your favourite teacher?

Were they enthusiastic? Did they have a sense of fairness?
    Did you feel respected?

My favourite teacher from primary school was enthusiastic, strict, fiercely fair and showed her students so much respect.

I didn't realise at the time how lucky I was to have teachers like that, who supported my love of reading and helped me to reach the point where I am today. I didn't realise how much work went into it either.

I live in Japan and work at an elementary school in the middle of nowhere. The kids call me Sensei, the Japanese word for teacher. I interact with bright, hilarious kids every day.I ended up here because I studied Japanese at University and going to Japan seemed like the next step. Teaching English was the way to get there. I thought I would improve my Japanese and become a translator... preferably for Nintendo Europe.

I soon realised however that teaching was the profession for me. That I loved working with kids and supporting their ambitions. When a child tells me that they want to speak English fluently my heart warms and my cheeks hurt from how wide the smile on my face is.

I work with teachers who are amazing at what they do and inspire me to do better. Others simply read from a textbook and mumble to their class. In my mind I promise to not become like them.

This blog is going to cover the application process for a PGDE in Primary Education (Scotland). It will cover the highs and the lows of the process, and how being abroad affects your chances.

I will look at the financial side of things, the logistical side of things and the odder side of things. (Such as the time I had to prove I was Scottish.)