Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I study a literature degree and have 4 hours of seminars per week - luckily I am now in my final year. I have only, voluntarily, spoken up in a handful of seminars but a few of my modules have been very interactive and, after being prompted on many occasions by the seminar leader, I became a lot more confident speaking up and actually appreciated being pushed.

I feel like I'm back to square one though now. My problem is that I have very low confidence and think I am not intelligent (despite getting a mix of firsts and 2.1s on my assessments so far). My course has a lot of very outspoken people on it and I always worry about what they would think of me if I say something completely stupid and wrong. I struggle to think on the spot but when I'm sitting down writing an assignment I find that many points come to me - I am actually scoring higher than those I thought to be more intelligent than me.

In spite of all this, I still go bright red when talking to the class even if it is just a few words and I generally struggle to articulate myself (both in seminars and with friends) as I'm constantly worried I may say the wrong thing.

Does anyone else experience this? Any advice?

ReputationRep:
    My situation is no where near close to yours, although I do know how you feel about having to participate and speak up in front of people.