Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    So I have an interview to be a trainee dispenser, leading to training to be a pharmacy technician with Boots. I just wanted to get people's opinions on the role and whether me accepting/going for it would be crazy.

To provide some context, I have a good degree from a good university in geography. When I was at sixth form I really fancied nursing or physiotherapy, but didn't do them because my parents had the view of "if it is healthcare, it must be medicine". I didn't want to do medicine so ended up studying for a geography degree. I've been offered a job as a sustainability consultant with a company based on having that degree.

However, I like the idea of being able to work some with patients, help advise them and learning on the job (with a bit of studying on the side). Is the role of pharmacy technician going to be hugely restrictive, though? How much progression is there? This also may sound stupid, but does it get particularly complicated? I'm fairly intelligent and have always enjoyed being challenged in my work.

Thanks in advance
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    (Original post by StayEvergreen)
    So I have an interview to be a trainee dispenser, leading to training to be a pharmacy technician with Boots. I just wanted to get people's opinions on the role and whether me accepting/going for it would be crazy.