Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys. To provide some context I'm studying architecture first year.
    I chose this uni because I thought it would be quite relaxed but this was not the case. However I only realised this now which is quite late. My course requires me to pass all my modules (3 in 1st semester, 3 in 2nd). I failed all 3 in the first semester, missing it by a few percentage points. Resits are possible but I am currently quite stressed out to whether they will allow it. I really don't want to repeat first year and was wondering if there could be anything done at this point to help my situation. I have spoken to my personal tutor and I am meeting her tomorrow, but in the meantime, has anyone or do you guys know of anyone in a similar position?
    Thanks...
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    Youd better hope your first year doesnt count twoards your degree proper. Your resits may very well be capped at 40%. Youd better get your act together and start undestanding why you arent performing and work hard to rectify the situation. I think repeating forst year is the least of your worries and much less important as to potentially failing your degree by being unable to cope with the course. See what your tutor has to say.
    Ask in the architecture forum.

ReputationRep:
    If you don't pass your resits then you will be reliant on the good will of the university to allow you to resit first year. They are not obliged to offer you entry into next year's cohort. Indeed, it may well depend on them having space as well.
    Having failed all three modules, you have to consider the possibility that this just isn't the right course for you. If you're adamant that it is, then maybe you need to consider that you are not right for this course. Not in your current state anyway.