Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I am a foreign student preparing for UK exams in maths and am confused by number formats I should use.

(1) In the US, my teacher sometimes considered my number 1 to be 7 as I used to write a diagonal line, which is not normally used in the US (see below). How are these digits, as well as 4, normally written in the UK?
    Name:  Digits2.JPG
Views: 41
Size:  13.9 KB

(2) In my language, we never say 'and' in long numbers, which is opposite in English. If 1,234,567 is pronounced as 'one million, two hundred and thirty-four thousand, five hundred and sixty-seven' (i.e. 'and' is not used between units and thousands, thousands and millions, etc.), how to pronounce long numbers containing zeros correctly, e.g.:

• 12,005 = twelve thousand (and?) five
    • 12,050 = twelve thousand (and?) fifty
    • 12,500 = twelve thousand (and?) five hundred.

(3) Is it the correct notation for recurring decimals in the UK?

1.22345634563456...=1.22\dot{3}4  5\dot{6}

How is this number normally pronounced, 'one point two two (and?) three four five six repeating / repeated / recurring / recurred / into infinity'?
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    (Original post by Fortesque)
    I am a foreign student preparing for UK exams in maths and am confused by number formats I should use.

(1) In the US, my teacher sometimes considered my number 1 to be 7 as I used to write a diagonal line, which is not normally used in the US (see below). How are these digits, as well as 4, normally written in the UK?

(2) In my language, we never say 'and' in long numbers, which is opposite in English. If 1,234,567 is pronounced as 'one million, two hundred and thirty-four thousand, five hundred and sixty-seven' (i.e. 'and' is not used between units and thousands, thousands and millions, etc.), how to pronounce long numbers containing zeros correctly, e.g.: