The Student Room Group

Advice or Tips for a New Healthcare Assistant?

Hi everyone,

I've got a job on an emergency assessment unit at a fairly busy hospital as a HCA, I'm really pleased but as this is my first HCA role I'm quite nervous too.

I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me, I'm hoping to gain as much experience as possible as I'm studying adult nursing from September and want to go into uni as prepared as possible!

Thank you!
Reply 1
Original post by CharlotteC66
Hi everyone,

I've got a job on an emergency assessment unit at a fairly busy hospital as a HCA, I'm really pleased but as this is my first HCA role I'm quite nervous too.

I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me, I'm hoping to gain as much experience as possible as I'm studying adult nursing from September and want to go into uni as prepared as possible!

Thank you!

Hello Charlotte,

Firstly, congratulations on your new job. I'm sure it will provide invaluable experience in the lead up to your career in nursing.

I myself have worked in the same role as you for over 6 years now, though I will be leaving it to read medicine in September of this year.

The main piece of advice I can offer you is to ask LOTS of questions. Take advantage of the different areas of expertise of each professional discipline. I have usually found staff to be more than happy to explain something. Remember that for doctors in particular, a significant part of their role is teaching, so I find they are often able to explain complicated topics with ease.