lavenderlife
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi I am currently studying the new 9-1 edexcel english lang and lit exam . Any useful revision channels,resources or tips to get 8/9 ?
davidpoku
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
mr salles english teaching, he's pretty good.
RiyaP06
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I would suggest finding ideas and points for whatever poems or books that are completely different to what an examiner would expect. So make sure you do your research. For example; I'm studying Lord of the Flies so I've researched so many different points that aren't common like Sigmund Freud interpretations. In other words, attempt including ALevel style points. That way you can secure your grade at 8/9 along with the form structure language and context points combined. Sounds complicated I know but it really works. (I'm predicted grade 9).
Emmy_Girl
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I am doing AQA, but I am guessing they are probably quite similar. For language, there isn't really any content to revise, just practice and learning the techniques. It would also help to read a variety of different texts whenever you can.
For literature, there is a lot of content to revise. I am doing Macbeth, Great Expectations, and An Inspector Calls and from reading them in class and watching the movies, I do know the basic plot. To revise, you do not necessarily need to read them again, but just make sure you summarise the key points/events, the plot, and character summaries including quotes. Also, practice writing essays, but focus on soemthing different and challenging each time. You could also make up your own essay questions and answer them before asking your teacher to mark them and give you feedback.