Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

OK so I am currently a GCSE student who is to make his A level choices. I'm really interested in going into scientific research in biological areas, particularly microbiology as a career as I find it fascinating. For my A level I have decided on Economics, Biology.....though the last one I am having trouble with. I am told that most courses for microbiology require Chemistry A level. I have not really found GCSE Chem that hard, but the later topics, the ones that only really appear in A level out of the GCSE ones, I do find really really hard. Add that with the calculations.

I do not want to continue Chem and would much rather do a more relaxing subject like Literature or History. However like I said to study microbiology I would really need Chem a level. My question is, should I do it just in case and is it really worth it, and if not, then what should my final subject be in order to aid me in applying for microbiology at university and degree level?

My advice would be to talk to your chemistry teacher at school and ask if you would struggle at a level. The thing is if you don't do it at alevel you won't be able to do your course at uni however most people I know changed their mind on what they wanted to do at uni whilst they were studying alevels. I know someone who went from medicine to accounting. At alevel do subjects you enjoy because then you will have the motivation to study them at alevel (you will need it!) and then decide what you want to do next. Hope this helps 😊

Since I've done chemistry and been through all this I can tell you cold truth.

Almost everything you've learnt in GCSE chemistry is a lie, you'll be taught from scratch the 'truth' starting with electronic configuration.
    So if your ready to rewind your brain and study like an asian for 2 years, go for it.