Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    So if it's a 12 mark essay that should be equivalent to 6 A01 and 6 A03 right?

I think I understand how the knowledge marks work, but I was watching a video on how examiners are meant to mark, and the example essays only had 1 strength and 1 weakness for 12 mark questions? My teacher says that for 12 mark essays we need 6 A03, which are 3 separate strengths and 3 separate weaknesses.

So, which is right?

ReputationRep:
    I'm in my second year of A level doing psychology and how we did our AO3 was we either write fown 6 brief evaluation points or write 3/4 and expand on them with lots of detail. Tbh i think examiners would prefer longer answers where you expand because you're more likely to get the marks there.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Habeebah)
    I'm in my second year of A level doing psychology and how we did our AO3 was we either write fown 6 brief evaluation points or write 3/4 and expand on them with lots of detail. Tbh i think examiners would prefer longer answers where you expand because you're more likely to get the marks there.

Posted from TSR Mobile
    Okay thank you!

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    My teacher (I'm in A2) has always emphasised depth for evaluation rather than breadth. Better to go into detail on three or four points that make a lot of very brief ones. The latter doesn't really demonstrate you being able to understand or critically analyse the point you're making or theory you're evaluating

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by TheMightyAugur)
    My teacher (I'm in A2) has always emphasised depth for evaluation rather than breadth. Better to go into detail on three or four points that make a lot of very brief ones. The latter doesn't really demonstrate you being able to understand or critically analyse the point you're making or theory you're evaluating