Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Should I stay or drop out? Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm a 20 year old from the UK who is currently in their second year of college. For next year, I've applied to universities for direct third year entry to continue with my education and have heard back from two out of the five I have applied for - both are conditional offers. I've made friends in the city I've moved to and I can honestly say I love living here... so where's the issue?

Well, here's the thing. I'm studying marketing and although I don't hate the course I'm not exactly in love with it either. I find it difficult, pretty boring and not what I thought it would be. I applied thinking it would be useful for getting a job in the marketing and sales industry but so far it's been nearly two years of heavy theory work. There's been nothing on presentations, networking, public speaking, advertising, pretty much everything the sector involves.

However, what the course has been useful for is letting me know I'm not interested in pursuing marketing any longer, but I was adamant I'd continue on for another two years to get my degree. The thought of spending two years on something to just give up would be heartbreaking, but is there any point in having a degree you'll never use? Four years is a long time to waste.

Furthermore, I'm just out of hospital (I was in for a week). Because of this I've missed so much course work including my main exam. I was admitted with a heart attack and was later diagnosed with inflammation to the heart. Normally, inflammation is caused by something viral but upon finding no virus the Doctors told me it could be stress that caused it. Do I really want to be on this course if it's making me so stressed I'm getting ill?