The Student Room Group

Not sure how to interact with my new flatmates??

I recently moved into new accommodation (this is my first time living with people other than my family) and have been getting to know my flatmates. They seem pretty close, and have mentioned that they will be moving into a flat together next year. I am a pretty shy person and struggle with social anxiety, so with them always in the kitchen, I do struggle a bit even going in, as I am irrationally afraid of embarrassing myself.

Sometimes I find them in the kitchen chatting or watching the telly and will say hello and make some small talk, but after I'm done with whatever I went in the kitchen for, they're usually engaged in a different conversation or back to watching the telly. Sometimes I don't want to interrupt what they're doing so I just leave the kitchen quietly. I've only been at my new flat for about two weeks, but I am constantly worried that my flatmates might find this rude or find me unfriendly when I do this.

Should I have to announce when I'm leaving the room, or is it ok to just walk out, especially since they're engaged in something else? I'm just really worried they hate me already, or that I'm making them uncomfortable in some way. Would really appreciate some advice on speaking to my flatmates or how to deal with this my anxiety in front of a group of people. ):
If you're not engaged in conversation it would be pretty weird if you said 'I'm leaving now' but it would be friendly to say 'speak to your guys later' as you left. You should try and join in a little bit, it will make things feel far less awkward - it doesn't have to be in a big way but if you can sit on the sofa with them for a bit or eat dinner in the same room then people will involve you in the conversation.
Original post by 1zxcvbnm1