Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    The loneliness is killing me. So many connections, acquaintances, (fake) friendships yet so little genuine human connection. I constantly feel like a nobody. Walking around campus or sitting in lectures, feeling unnoticed and insignificant, I often wonder whether others truly value me, or think of me as more than just the nice guy from class. I feel like I cannot bond with anybody on a more intricate level. Apart from my housemate, who has plenty of other friends, I have nobody to go out with. I seem to passively dislike disproportionately many people at my uni for different reasons (arrogant, childish, immature, fake, uncaring). Does anybody else feel like this? I'm in second year, male. Please spare the default "join a society" response. I am part of multiple societies and sure, sport helps take my mind off things but I still go to bed feeling isolated and lonely.
    • Very Important Poster

(Original post by Student28461)
    The loneliness is killing me. So many connections, acquaintances, (fake) friendships yet so little genuine human connection. I constantly feel like a nobody. Walking around campus or sitting in lectures, feeling unnoticed and insignificant, I often wonder whether others truly value me, or think of me as more than just the nice guy from class. I feel like I cannot bond with anybody on a more intricate level. Apart from my housemate, who has plenty of other friends, I have nobody to go out with. I seem to passively dislike disproportionately many people at my uni for different reasons (arrogant, childish, immature, fake, uncaring). Does anybody else feel like this? I'm in second year, male. Please spare the default "join a society" response. I am part of multiple societies and sure, sport helps take my mind off things but I still go to bed feeling isolated and lonely.