The Student Room Group

Yr 12 in desperate need of study help & making a timetable. Help?

Hi Everyone,

I really need help im a study noob I havn't studied throughout my school life and now im in year 12 planning on Uni I think I might need to learn how to. I have always been fine and got good grades (A's to high B's) without studying but now im in year 12 and there is so much to learn in 3 terms and I want to go to Uni so I need to learn to study & I need help.

I really struggle to fit the studying into my day & would really appreciate help making a plan that is good, reasonable and that I could stick to.

Below are the things in my schedule I cant change and need to work around

Monday - Get home about 4:30 Dinner from 6:30-7:30 Bedtime 9:25
Tuesday - Get home about 4:30 Dinner from 6:30-7:30 Bedtime 9:25
Wednesday - Get home at 5:30 Dinner from 6:30-7:30 Bedtime 9:25
Thursday - Get home 5:30 Dinner from 6:30-7:30 Bedtime 9:25
Friday - Get home 4:30 - 5:00 Dinner from 6:30-7:30 Bedtime 11:00
Saturday - Free all day usually Dinner from 6:30-7:30 Bedtime 11:00
Sunday - Free all day usually Dinner from 6:30-7:30 Bedtime 9:25

I dont know how long I should study for everyday? I have been thinking of doing 1 hour per subject (I have 4-5) every night with 15 min breaks in between each subject 7 days a week so thats 4-5 hours of study a night 28-35 hours a week but I think this may be to much and I because I go to bed at 9:30 I have no time to relax and do what I want.
Or should I do 45 min per subject every night 7 days a week with 15 min breaks?
Or should I do something completely different?

Also how do I fit assignments in and study every night? should I do my assignments in the time set per subject and if I dont have any assignments then I should study? URGH I really have no clue what Im doing Im desperate for help I need to get very high grades.