Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Rent my own flat or move into a house-share Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello everyone,

I am looking to move to London in September. I graduated last year and moved in with my sister in Bristol but I am not enjoying it. I have always wanted to move to London and decided to after this summer once my tenancy has ended in Bristol. I have managed to secure a good job in London and I have savings too.

My question is whether I should move into my own place or do a house-share? I am in two minds because house-shares are cheaper and got good chance of making more friends but I do like my own space.

Thank you

ReputationRep:
    If you have a partner who would gladly move in with you and help out with bills, then yes, get your own place.

If not, then just stick with a house share, they're considerably cheaper, especially in London.

It's very difficult to save any money renting your own apartment and paying all the bills by yourself, especially on a graduate salary.
    If you must have your own place then do have a look at studios and converted flats that include bills, you can find these sub £1000 a month. (Still a lot of outgoings for a single person)

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by selfridges123)
    Hello everyone,

I am looking to move to London in September. I graduated last year and moved in with my sister in Bristol but I am not enjoying it. I have always wanted to move to London and decided to after this summer once my tenancy has ended in Bristol. I have managed to secure a good job in London and I have savings too.

My question is whether I should move into my own place or do a house-share? I am in two minds because house-shares are cheaper and got good chance of making more friends but I do like my own space.

Thank you
    Look at the cost of renting your own flat first before you decide you prefer one thing or another.

ReputationRep: