Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all! I've read a few posts on this, but I decided to post my specific question and circumstances myself!

So I have a degree in Animal Science, 2:1 (annoyingly close to a 1st ) and am on a year out from vet school. Realising this isn't what I want to do, my love for computer science has grown exponentially. I've been teaching myself various aspects of the field, currently focused on C#, Unity and sometimes some HTML/CSS. I am a beginner but learning fast and thoroughly enjoying it, even if i spent about 1 hour looking for a bug in 60 lines of code (i'm learning fast!).

I applied for Computer Science BSc and have an offer to go to Cardiff Uni this September, I thought that the start form the ground up would be a good idea for me, as much as its 3 years more, I can get experience in the holidays and have connections from uni, whilst learning CS in detail and being able to adjust my modules and potential career path.

However, a tutor got back to me saying that I am eligible for their MSc in Computing, designed for students converting from other BSc degrees. I have applied for this too, and am awaiting a response to if I have an offer for that course. It's a one year, intensive computing course in which I could be done in a year with a masters (which whilst better than a BSc may look odd/worse compared to other candidates with a 3 year BSc in computer science??) and would also be able to go straight into work after a year, which is very appealing.

My question is, in your opinion, people who've experienced either route, what are the pro's & con's of these two options and what would you think is the better option.

Thanks for reading!
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep: