Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Advice needed for a school student with insomnia Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello
    I do not have an official insomnia diagnosis however it seems likely that I have insomnia as I very rarely get any more than 3.5 hours sleep a night. I try to sleep however I can't even though I feel exhausted all the time resulting in me drinking a shocking amount of energy drinks.
    A lot of the time I find it very difficult to focus in school due to my eyes being very heavy and shutting over, I force myself to study at the library otherwise I would get nothing done at home as the tiredness means I can't be bothered...
    I'm studying for Scottish Highers which are equivalent to AS level. I'm doing extremely well in all my subjects except maths which I am doing very badly in...

Does anyone have any advice to lessen the feeling of tiredness or to manage it better?
    The tiredness also results in a constant brain fog and I don't want my school results to be affected.

ReputationRep:
    1. Cut out the energy drinks and other caffeinated beverages. You might feel that you need them to get through the day, but they quickly become part of the problem.

2. Google sleep hygiene and follow some of the advice you can find. In particular, I recommend suggestions to keep off your phone, laptop, etc. at night.

3. Focus on getting up at the same time each day regardless of how much you've slept. I've found it a better strategy to sort out a terrible sleep pattern than trying to go to bed at a set time.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Quantex)
    1. Cut out the energy drinks and other caffeinated beverages. You might feel that you need them to get through the day, but they quickly become part of the problem.

2. Google sleep hygiene and follow some of the advice you can find. In particular, I recommend suggestions to keep off your phone, laptop, etc. at night.