Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey, i am an international student and I'm studying Biomed (first year) in the UK.

At first i wanted to finish my degree then try to get into 4 year MD program but i realised it is really competitive and that i might not get it and loose so much money ( international students pay even more!)

so now im thinking to apply for Charles in Prague. I heard people say it is unusually hard for first year and fail rate is very high. I Wanna know how is it hard? is it because many don't study hard enough and party hard instead in a new charming atmosphere or what?
    im worried because if i fail then i loose my chance in the UK too.
    how well i should be in my Czech language ability after first year?

also what sort of qualification would you achieve at the end? is it kind of international recognisable one? they say yes but i wanna know if it is really practical.

is Czech better than Poland in this case?

also i would love to read about your general experience.
    many thanks.

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm not applying for medicine myself, but my mum is a doctor, and is involved in training junior doctors who have just finished their medicine degrees.

She says that medicine degrees from Prague are nowhere near as good as UK medicine degrees - the Prague graduates she has are lacking in so much knowledge that UK-medical school graduates have; this may be in part due to the language barrier? Several of the Prague graduates she has trained have failed the assessment to become a GP multiple times. It's also harder for Prague graduates to get the placements they need to become a qualified doctor, because their degrees are not very well thought of.