Career change into Psychology at 25yo: How to get into KCL grad program?

Watch
shinchan
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hello everyone,

After searching the forums, I couldn't find anything related exactly to my situation so here goes.

I live in the United states and received a Biology degree at a top 50 undergrad institution. I graduated with a GPA of 3.4-3.5: Not enough to disqualify me I think, but not enough to make me stand out. I did take two courses in Cognitive Science and received As in both of them. I got As in my writing and essay related courses as well.

Now I have around three years of work experience as a business analyst in healthcare (mostly reporting and project management, and I plan to get involved in work that will help me learn/apply statistical programming), but I've realized that getting a PhD in Clinical Psychology is what I've wanted all along. Without getting a graduate degree it will be nearly impossible for me to make a case that I can withstand the academic rigor, but now I need to figure out how to get into a graduate program. I really loved London and think going to Uni there is a great option since it will be faster and most likely cheaper.

So my question is, what is the best way to improve my chances of getting into any King's College Graduate Psychology program (I am looking at a bunch of options-Doctorate in Clinical Psychology, Psychiatric Research MSc, Clinical Neuropsychiatry, Clinical Neuroscience....and about 3 more)? The way I see it, I have two options:
1) Stay at my current job, get a Post-bacc degree at a top, name brand recognizable university, and use that to apply if sufficient.
2) Get a job as a research assistant in a Psychology lab and take a few courses to show I know the basic material (for example, an online course at University of Oxford's department of continuing education).