The Student Room Group

Need some serious advice!

Hi guys, I'm Abs, I made an account just so I can post this and get some feedback/advice? I'll try and make my situation as clear and concise as possible.

So I have this condition called thallasemia, and I have to have blood transfusions every 3 weeks. Got diagnosed when I was 7 and I've had the regular transfusions and other treatment for the past 3 years. Won't get too into it but its relevant. I was a good student in GCSE considering everything, got Bs and Cs overall, I chose computing business studies and maths at Sixth Form, but I unfortunately got really ill in this time and couldn't attend many lessons at all. In AS I barely scraped through with a DDE, my form tutor and teachers are aware of my condition and tried to support me however they can, and they were even amazed I passed considering my low attendance. Same story for A2, which I got EEU For. My Tutor assured me he would be a good reference saying if it wasn't for the extenuating circumstances I would be a competent student. I really did want to go to uni but I couldn't and it was out of my control. I looked for apprenticeships and eventually I found an IT apprenticeship, the first few months went really well and I did all my work to an "exceptional standard" however, I was still getting transfused every 3 weeks and regular doctors appointments, and they felt like they were just paying me to be sick and have days off I guess, because I got fired in December. Since then I've been on a specific diet, exercising regularly and really just doing everything I can to make sure my health doesn't stop me from what I want to do again. At this point I want to pursue a degree but would that even be possible? What options are there for me right now? Any word back or advice would be appreciated
Hello,