Join TSR now and get all your revision questions answeredSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys!!

I'm a first year UCL student. I'm writing you as I would like to have an advice. I currently speak four languages: English, italian (mother tongue), Spanish (B2) and French (B2). This summer I wanna improve my Spanish and my French, but I feel that has come the moment to start learning a new language!

My options are:

1)German - even If I think I'm not really into it. It would be useful though as I'm European and with Brexit who knows
    2)Portuguese - Since I know Spanish and Italian it wouldn't be difficult but you speak it only in Brazil and Portugal
    3) Chinese - I love it and I already know a bit of it, BUT it's VERY hard to learn and it takes a lot of time
    4) Japanese - I have been told that it's a bit easier than Chinese and it fascinates me at the same time

so what do you think? I'd love to start an Asian language, but isn't it going to take so long?

Ps consider I'd like to work either in finance/consulting or in politics (UN, diplomacy)

xx
    • Community Assistant
    • Very Important Poster
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Ibac)
    Hey guys!!

I'm a first year UCL student. I'm writing you as I would like to have an advice. I currently speak four languages: English, italian (mother tongue), Spanish (B2) and French (B2). This summer I wanna improve my Spanish and my French, but I feel that has come the moment to start learning a new language!

My options are:

1)German - even If I think I'm not really into it. It would be useful though as I'm European and with Brexit who knows
    2)Portuguese - Since I know Spanish and Italian it wouldn't be difficult but you speak it only in Brazil and Portugal
    3) Chinese - I love it and I already know a bit of it, BUT it's VERY hard to learn and it takes a lot of time