The Student Room Group

Do universities give out offers including EPQ?

I have applied to do medicine at 4 universities. I'm currently studying A-levels in Maths, Biology and Chemistry (classic medicine subjects) and am doing an EPQ as well. I am wondering whether a conditional university offer will include my EPQ as well as my other A-levels? (For example: An offer of a place if I achieved AAA as well as an A in EPQ). I'm asking as it's just adding extra stress to my already stressful subjects and if they don't include it in my offer, I would consider dropping it.
Most Universities will state if they will give you a lower offer based on your EPQ, check the websites of those you applied to or email them.
Original post by SamRylance2
I have applied to do medicine at 4 universities. I'm currently studying A-levels in Maths, Biology and Chemistry (classic medicine subjects) and am doing an EPQ as well. I am wondering whether a conditional university offer will include my EPQ as well as my other A-levels? (For example: An offer of a place if I achieved AAA as well as an A in EPQ). I'm asking as it's just adding extra stress to my already stressful subjects and if they don't include it in my offer, I would consider dropping it.

Most unis don't look at epq 😌 It's nice to talk about in the interview but they wouldn't ask for a grade for it in your offer!!

Probably not for the top unis but I suppose it will carry weight in terms of personal statement and or interview.

And unless you are doing realising opportunities you don't need to get anything more than a C

Some unis do like Bath.
Original post by DarkEnergy
Some unis do like Bath.

Bath don't offer medicine. Most medical schools don't require a grade from the epq when I researched
Original post by rosie.mn
Most Universities will state if they will give you a lower offer based on your EPQ, check the websites of those you applied to or email them.

EPQ wont lower offers for medicine
Original post by bex.anne