The Student Room Group

Money as a nurse

Hi
I was wondering as a student nurse and all the travelling for placements and obvs social events. Is it hard to keep on top of you student loan??? Any part time jobs suggested for first year students??
Thanks
Reply 1
Student loan or bursery?? Student loan I'd imagine you get quite abit more. You'd live pretty comfortably if you get same rate as most student financed courses.

Bursery....can only go off my experience. It's not feasible and you struggle. I have to work alongside which is very tiring and not ideal. My bursery only covers my rent. I have 2 children, a car and a house plus tons of bills. I actually wonder how I do it but I've done it for a year so I'm sure the next 2 il kinda manage!!
Hey, im a 3rd year nursing student and I find it a struggle even as a young student living at home with parents and pay no rent at all!
I work for a healthcare agency so I basically tell them when im available around uni and placement and they find work for me and give me shifts.
It is hard to survive without a job on the side but not impossible! my friend hasn't worked on the side and she is doing fine, although she doesn't drive so doesn't have to pay those kind of expenses, but public transport is still quite dear and you hardly get anything back. But nonetheless she manages.
If I were you id look into doing agency healthcare on the side as its more flexable. But if you can cut back on other things like take-aways, nights out etc then you might be alright without working. Depends on your own commitments and what you spend monthly I guess.
Original post by Pariah_xo
Hey, im a 3rd year nursing student and I find it a struggle even as a young student living at home with parents and pay no rent at all!
I work for a healthcare agency so I basically tell them when im available around uni and placement and they find work for me and give me shifts.