The Student Room Group

i dont know why i picked A-level Further Maths?

i am in final year of university right now on a computer science course.

however 6 years ago i made the choice for some reason to pick maths, further maths and physics .

picking these subjects caused me stress and depression to unimaginable levels and it caused me to develop a mental health disorder for which i am on medication.

i then picked engineering for university and then dropped out the first year.

i keep thinking about this wrong mistake in the past, and i just feel like crying...

why have i made such wrong choices in life, i have literally threw my precious years away .
bump?
Did you go to a sixth form?
You would've needed to have at least 15 hours of study per week to be classed as a 'full-time' student.
I'd assume you didn't do 7.5 hours a week (lesson-time) on one subject and so that third was probably necessary - and how do you know it didn't help you get into uni? Of course 3 A-levels looks better than 2.
(edited 7 years ago)
Reply 4
i was in a similar situation to you, but my depression wasn't caused by academic choices (i doubt yours was either, it's usually something more important than that, like family issues), though i did take the same subjects, and I went on to do physics which i dropped out of. i recommend you don't consider yourself a failure for this, but think of it as a necessary step toward finding your true passion.

find a job and a hobby and live a relaxed life. you're not here for long so don't spend your days dwelling on what could have been.

oh and remember to eat your vegetables.
(edited 7 years ago)
Original post by physichemistry
Did you go to a sixth form?
You would've needed to have at least 15 hours of study per week to be classed as a 'full-time' student.