A Level OCR English Literature: How to write an essay for poetry?

Watch
csutton
Badges: 7
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
So, I'm studying Hamlet, A Streetcar Named Desire, Nineteen Eighty-Four and Christina Rossetti: Selected Poems

I've printed out the mark schemes, read through the examiner reports and I'm aware that the AOs are weighed differently according to which text it is.

Some questions:
HOW DO YOU WRITE AN ESSAY FOR POETRY? (Main one)
Would you go through the poem chronologically, or separate the paragraphs into things like: context, language, imagery, structure, tone, etc.
Do you include critics?

If anybody could just provide any help I would be so happy. If anybody could just point me towards some resources or something, like ANYTHING. I'm just so lost.
Username1502
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
So for my A-Level English course (Edexcel) we have a 24 mark question on poetry comparing two poems on a named theme given in the question.

So what you must do is, of course, start with an introduction. Make it eloquent but simple - don't over complicate it. Start with a few sentences (2 maybe) on what each poem is about on the most basic level, and perhaps mention if there are deeper meanings contained in the body of the symbols in the poems. Then a sentence talking about HOW EXACTLY these two poems are similar, or different RELATING TO THE NAMED GIVEN THEME IN THE QUESTION. Don't be vague and say "these poem's are similar", no, you need to be specific - WHY? Then, if it feels natural perhaps interrogate the question. If the question is asking about how the poets are exploring themes of societal pressures, begin to question if the poets are doing this in the first place: