The Student Room Group

Reaching French Fluency

Hi,

I'm currently studying A2 Level French and have a fairly good level of French. I'm predicted an A* for the A Level and cope fairly well with the exams etc. However I was just wondering what the best way would be to take this level to full fluency. I'm not studying languages at university, but I'm keen to carry on my French and really be able to speak it absolutely fluency. I was thinking of, perhaps, working towards the C1 exam. Does anyone have any advice?

Many thanks.
Reply 1
Have one to one lessons with a native speaker. Almost certainly some sort of French Society at Uni you can join. Read as much as you can in the language. Holiday and, in due course, work for a time in France. Good luck.
Original post by rampallian
Hi,

I'm currently studying A2 Level French and have a fairly good level of French. I'm predicted an A* for the A Level and cope fairly well with the exams etc. However I was just wondering what the best way would be to take this level to full fluency. I'm not studying languages at university, but I'm keen to carry on my French and really be able to speak it absolutely fluency. I was thinking of, perhaps, working towards the C1 exam. Does anyone have any advice?

Many thanks.

Just keep practising and using the language as much as you can. Working towards C1 is a great idea to take your fluency further - if you get an A*, then you should be a solid B2.