The Student Room Group

Going in as an Officer or Airwoman? Not sure what to go with

Hi!

I'm planning to start my application process for the RAF in the near future, but I'm not sure what route to go down. I am currently studying a HNC in Mechanical Engineering and planning to progress onto a HND. I eventually want to become an Engineering Officer in the RAF, but I'm also considering the application for an Aircraft Technician.
Should I apply for the Aircraft Technician role once I've done my HND (bearing in mind the minimum educational requirements for the role are GCSEs) or should I top-up my HND into a Bachelors Degree and pursue the option of becoming an Engineering Officer?

Many thanks!
Reply 1
Original post by x1chloe1x
Hi!

I'm planning to start my application process for the RAF in the near future, but I'm not sure what route to go down. I am currently studying a HNC in Mechanical Engineering and planning to progress onto a HND. I eventually want to become an Engineering Officer in the RAF, but I'm also considering the application for an Aircraft Technician.
Should I apply for the Aircraft Technician role once I've done my HND (bearing in mind the minimum educational requirements for the role are GCSEs) or should I top-up my HND into a Bachelors Degree and pursue the option of becoming an Engineering Officer?

Many thanks!

What do you want to do day to day?

Do you see yourself as someone who's more hands on, getting your fingers dirty, or are you more of an office bod, filling out forms, delegating work and managing a department?

Don't feel like a HND will be 'too much' for the role, just because the minimum requirements are GCSEs. There will be plenty of techies with degrees, they simply preferred that role.
Reply 2
Original post by Drewski
What do you want to do day to day?

Do you see yourself as someone who's more hands on, getting your fingers dirty, or are you more of an office bod, filling out forms, delegating work and managing a department?