NathanD_97
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hey guys, it's my first post here and I'm not too sure if this is the right place to ask this question.

Anyway, I'm not too sure if it's worth studying Music at University. This is definetely a career that I want to follow, I've wanted to be a working musician for as long as I can remember, but what opportunities are on offer for uni graduates? I'm finishing up my Level 3 Diploma and I am able to teach guitar. I have also had auditions for function gigs. Presumably I could work for The Birmingham Music Service too, once my gradings are sorted out. So what exactly are the benefits of studying Music at uni? I'd love to go but I'm really struggling to see the benefits as I am able to work in this field without a Degree.

Thanks guys
Jwmusic
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Man, it's up to you. I'm a guitarist too, classically trained since I was 4, taught my self electric and currently teach, work in shows and stuff as well as being musician for higher for various singers and ensembles etc. I'm leaving school this year and am in the same predicament, I've looked all over the country etc and I'm very fortinut to now many great pro musicians as friends including various professors. Greatest advice I've had came from an amazing bassist who did jazz at the royal academy. He said frankly it depends what corse you want to do, if you want to teach then naturally degree is the only way, it also helps get your foot in the door for the west end for instance and high level elitist ensembles, BBC pops orchestra for example use the London schools as there recruiting grounds. The main thing to weight up though is the people you will meet, its all about who you know and who has your name, that's what gets you gigs, not what you know it's who you know. I've decided to audition for some of the London ones, mainly wanting to do jazz a guildhall though. My advice from talking to people would be think what you want to do an