Books to read for Oxford English Lit/Lang application? Watch

sophiehchn
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I'm a Y12 student and I've been attending a lot of talks organised by my college on applying to Oxbridge and it's made me seriously consider applying to Oxford to study English. Before now I've never been a really avid reader (which I know probably sounds silly considering I want to go on to study English- writing's always been my forte but apparently Oxbridge only look for extra-curricular activities that relate to the course, and English doesn't involve creative writing- so, actually, additional side question here, is it worth putting on my PS that I've won creative writing competitions or would that be considered irrelevant?) and so I'm trying to read as much as possible in my free time to build up my 'library' of books I've read. Currently I'm reading Naked Lunch by William S. Burroughs and after that I planned on reading Animal Farm & 1984, then possibly The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler, and after all that some pre-20th cent. novels by Jane Austen/the Brontës- I've tried looking for reading lists but I can't really find any and the Oxford site just says that for English, you should 'read widely'. Any suggestions on what I should be reading? Are the books I plan on reading any good, or does it not really matter what you read, rather HOW you read it and discuss it? Would really like some advice from anyone who's thinking of applying or has applied, or studies/studied English at Oxford or Cambridge (or anywhere, really)! Thank yooou
QHF
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by sophiehchn)
does it not really matter what you read, rather HOW you read it and discuss it
This is the case, up to a point. If you're a good close reader and you can advance and modify a sensible argument about a text, you can demonstrate those skills using a wide variety of material.