UNI LOAN - high income, supportive parents?

Watch
leahwyd
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
My household income is around £55k a year and I am totally aware of how I will be around the minimum amount for loans which is perfectly fine, but what do I do when my step parent who earns literally around 50k of this income, says he will refuse to pay/support me financially throughout my university years (due to family issues etc) ?? I have no relationship with my step dad and I never have, we can go months without ever speaking a word to each other. This leaves my mum (who I do have a relationship with), who earns around £100 per week to support me, which would be a totally different scenario in terms of how much I would get in terms of my loan. What do I do about this? IS THIS EVEN LEGAL? I am a Northern Irish student and I aim to go to London for university, if this information helps.
jelly1000
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by leahwyd)
My household income is around £55k a year and I am totally aware of how I will be around the minimum amount for loans which is perfectly fine, but what do I do when my step parent who earns literally around 50k of this income, says he will refuse to pay/support me financially throughout my university years (due to family issues etc) ?? I have no relationship with my step dad and I never have, we can go months without ever speaking a word to each other. This leaves my mum (who I do have a relationship with), who earns around £100 per week to support me, which would be a totally different scenario in terms of how much I would get in terms of my loan. What do I do about this? IS THIS EVEN LEGAL? I am a Northern Irish student and I aim to go to London for university, if this information helps.