The Student Room Group

Is a gap year the best option for me?

Hello,so I really want to study History at University and although i'm only in my first year of A levels I am really concerned about my predicted grades so far (currently C's and D's) as I feel as though I can achieve higher grades at the end of my 2 year study. The Universities that I'm looking at are asking for A*s-B so this is where the concern comes in.
I'm thinking of taking a gap year between College and Uni if my predicted grades are still not high enough when it comes to the usual time I should be applying (end of 2017) so I can apply with my actual grades a year later,I'll also get a job so I can start saving up for student life etc. Also,my GSCE's are average and as cliche as it sounds I know that they don't determine me as a student as I didn't really perform to my best ability due to personal reasons at the time (A*BBCCCCC),so I was thinking that if I was to work extremely hard and achieve A*A*A* (bit of a reach I know but who knows haha) in my A Levels would they even look at my GCSE's in my application?
Obviously I'm still going to work hard on my assessments/mock exams but if I was to make this decision quicker I feel as though it would take a lot of pressure off of me if that makes sense...
I know that it's too early to think about this as i have about 7 more months until the usual application process begins but does this sound like the best thing to do? Thanks :smile:
(edited 7 years ago)
Sorry you've not had any responses about this. :frown: Are you sure you've posted in the right place? :smile: Here's a link to our subject forum which should help get you more responses if you post there. :redface:

Just quoting in Fox Corner so she can move the thread if needed :wizard:

Spoiler

Original post by rosiexoxo