Why did Britain develop an Empire?

Watch
BumbleBeaButt
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
This is a subject I am currently studying and I would be intrigued to hear the views of others (only if you actually have accurate knowledge, no wiki warriors)

It's a well known historical debate surrounding economic, political/strategic and civilising forces. What would you say the reasons are for the development of the empire?
Jjj90
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
I think it is a much more organic development than people seem to think - people see it as a 'bad' thing that happened for 'bad' reasons, but in reality it was extremely nuanced. Lets just take some examples, the United States (as it would come to be known) was largely about migration (ironically), as apposed to invasion or expansion, the whole 'taking natives land' argument strikes me as being extremely erroneous in a world before the Treaty of Westphalia and 'Westphalian Sovereignty' and before there had been any sort of discussion or consensus regarding 'natives' and natives rights. Also some colonies (such as Barbados) weren't inhabited when colonized.

From there Britain moved into the Caribbean, but this came from war with Spain more than being a simple land grab - the root of much of Britain's successes lie in European wars that Britain came to dominate; so Gibraltar is an example of this, as was St Helena (where Napoleon died), so is Jamaica I believe, and a load of the North American colonies in Canada and the US. And Egypt which was a protectorate.

And there are places with a much lengthier historical association with England or Britain, English intervention in Ireland stretched back all the way through the middle ages. Claims on Newfoundland go back to the Tudors.