Dissertation Help: Choice of topic

Watch
ChloeBelle
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi everyone, I would reeeeally appreciate some advice as I have a week to make a decision.

I'm in my second year, and at my uni we have a choice as to the set up of our third year dissertation. I can either choose to do a 10,000 word dissertation worth 30 credits, where I can select a question/topic area from a list of about 30 choices, or I can do a 12,000 word dissertation worth 45 credits where I select my own topic related to an interest of one of my lecturers. The latter option is only open to students who are averaging a 2:1 in second year (my average mark so far appears to be 70 on the dot haha).

If I choose the 30 credit option, I can do three other modules alongside, and for the 45 credit option I do two other modules. My only concern is that I am putting all my eggs in one basket and relying on one piece of work to get a first. Other students on my course have tried to put me off, however, most people I know are averaging a low 2:1 at the moment so I don't know if this is influencing them.

If it makes a difference, I'm studying law, and I don't want to be a lawyer. I plan to do a masters in Marketing. My lectuerer says the 45 credit option will be beneficial to postgraduate students, however, my dissertation will not be related to my masters so I don't know if the same applies.

Thank you so much for any help in advance.
alleycat393
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago