The Student Room Group

advice to get over someone?

I'm in love with one of my best friends. She knows exactly how I feel and shes been very supportive too by saying if I need space then she'll give me it. We did start off seeing each other then our mental health issues got in the way and since then we've just been good friends. It's been a year and I'm hurting so much, I've never felt this way about anyone and I just want to get over her and be friends normally. I'm sick of feeling this way and I don't want to ruin our friendship. has anyone got any advice?

its killing me
Reply 1
Hey.I am not a relationship expert but I think u should stop seeing her and start a new life.
I've experienced so called ,, unreciprocated love" ,when I was a teen.It was awful.I am sure u'll get over her soon!
You will never get over her unless you stop being her friend. You should cut off contact with her and try again once you find a relationship with someone else.
Reply 3
Original post by thepearman
I'm in love with one of my best friends. She knows exactly how I feel and shes been very supportive too by saying if I need space then she'll give me it. We did start off seeing each other then our mental health issues got in the way and since then we've just been good friends. It's been a year and I'm hurting so much, I've never felt this way about anyone and I just want to get over her and be friends normally. I'm sick of feeling this way and I don't want to ruin our friendship. has anyone got any advice?

its killing me

Hi, take a brake from her and spend sometime with other people ( for 2 weeks ish)
after that just try talking to her normally, don't let her think you have feelings for her.

Try forgetting about the pass, and just focus on being a friend.

Hope this helps

Emma
Reply 4
Original post by Emma.ok
Hi, take a brake from her and spend sometime with other people ( for 2 weeks ish)
after that just try talking to her normally, don't let her think you have feelings for her.