AQA Classical Civilisation Watch

Jack123123
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi everyone,
Im currently studying the Iliad module for AQA classical civilisation and really struggling.
What resources do you use and How do you structure 20/30markers? To what extent should the analysis be? i normally use something akin to the point, evidence and explain approach. Thanks in advance.
Classics_Teacher
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Spark Notes and York Notes are two books that I recommend to my students. In terms of structuring your essays, your approach sounds like a good one: it is all too easy to slip into an unhelpful book-by-book essay plan which never works that well in terms of creating an effective argument. Make sure you have a look at past papers and the specification (both of which are available on AQA's website) and use these to plan some practice essays.
Jack123123
Rep:
?
(Original post by Classics_Teacher)
Spark Notes and York Notes are two books that I recommend to my students. In terms of structuring your essays, your approach sounds like a good one: it is all too easy to slip into an unhelpful book-by-book essay plan which never works that well in terms of creating an effective argument. Make sure you have a look at past papers and the specification (both of which are available on AQA's website) and use these to plan some practice essays.
Ok thanks! Im currently using a combination of spark notes and York notes although they seem limited in their analysis.
Jack123123
Rep:
?
(Original post by sian.jane)
I'm really struggling too - all the names keep confusing me and I feel like Unit 2 (We're doing the Second Punic war) is just completely losing me altogether because there's just so much content to get your head around!