The Student Room Group

Academic referees

I'm applying to do a postgrad degree in Psychology. I need to submit at least one academic reference - even though both my current employers have offered to write one for me. I graduated uni in 2014 - I'm no longer in touch with any of my old tutors and I have no idea how to approach asking them for a reference...any ideas or suggestions would be so welcome, as I am utterly stumped! Thanks
Send whichever tutor/lecturer/professor you got along with best (and/or achieved the best results under) an email? That's pretty much the standard approach. They'll have experienced this before so it won't seem as alien a concept to them as it does to you.
Original post by cuileann
I'm applying to do a postgrad degree in Psychology. I need to submit at least one academic reference - even though both my current employers have offered to write one for me. I graduated uni in 2014 - I'm no longer in touch with any of my old tutors and I have no idea how to approach asking them for a reference...any ideas or suggestions would be so welcome, as I am utterly stumped! Thanks

How to approach them? Contact a few tutors who you got along with well or who tutor a course related to the postgraduate degree in Psychology which you are about to take. Introduce yourself to them (I am sure they may have a hard time remembering you, but this is important). Explain to them that you need their help, by means of a reference letter. Explain the form in which the letter should take- email or hard-copy letter. Give them as much information as possible. You should get some positive response.
Reply 3
Original post by cuileann