This discussion is closed.
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I moved to UK at the age of 7. I have lived in England ever since, while frequently visiting my home country . I am currently an f1 doctor. I am thinking of taking a year out (with the possibility of not returning for fy2).
As I would have received my full licence by end of year 1.
My plan would be my to continue my training in my home country. (This involves sitting an exam in october, Compulsory youth service, applying for residency for speciality of choice. During this period I have the possibility of starting my own business).

This is a very hard step for me to make, because I am not aware of anyone leaving after f1 training. Plus I am not aware of the steps it would involve if I EVER wanted to return back to the UK. My family and Friends are all back home, and I am not really happy about living in the UK and I've always wanted to move back. But At the same time I do not want to make any drastic, and career halting decisions.

Do I enjoy being a doctor?
Yes, I love being a doctor, even if I didn't, I don't know what else I could possibly do. But the NHS doesn't care about doctors in general, junior doctors are REALLY over worked, with little pay (I got paid £1800(reduced to £1300 after automatically taking out my rent) for a whole months work, involving long nights, stress, and actual tears).
Plus I look at senior doctors and consultants and think to myself is this what I look forward to?
Smile88egc
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Continuing training in your home country doesn't sound too appealing either. What does "compulsary youth service" involve? Have you spoken to junior doctors in your home country to find out what working life is like there?
Don't forget there is a good pay rise between F1 and F2. I'm not trying to put you off, but you may find that changing the country you work in becomes easier as you become more senior in your training.
nexttime
Badges: 22
Rep:
?