The Student Room Group

Masters course not eligible for PG loan.

I am currently studying a Masters which takes 2 years, however, I have been told by Student Finance England that the course is not listed with them and not on their database. They advised me to contact the university, who are telling me that the course is not eligible for funding as the programme specifications they have on their back end stipulates that it can take up to 6 years to complete.

The programme is being delivered via distance learning. I checked other distance learning programmes, for example, Open University- with 2-year programmes and a maximum completion length of up to 10 years. These are eligible for funding.

When I joined the programme was advertised as a 2-year programme. It was also eligible for the Post Graduate Development Loan (PGDL) which the university recommended when I started, but are now dismissing despite giving me the information. The PGDL were offered on 2-3 year programme.

I just think there is something not quite right somewhere and looking for advice on what I can possibly do?
(edited 7 years ago)
Hi

Although Post Graduate Loan (PGL) support may be eligible to students doing a course via distance learning, if not meeting the criteria listed below then it can mean that the student may not be entitled to this type of support. To be eligible the course must be either:

a full-time course lasting 1 or 2 years; or

a part-time course lasting 2 academic years which has a 1 year Full Time Equivalent (FTE)

a part-time course lasting 3 or 4 academic years which has a 2 year FTE; or

a part-time course lasting up to 3 years* which has no FTE course.

*1 year courses will always be undertaken on a full-time basis, but 2 year courses may be full-time or part-time.